Here are other interesting facts in the FIFA vote:

More Brazil coach Ronaldo than Neymar At FIFA Awards

Despite being Brazil’s coach, Tite has chosen Cristiano Ronaldo instead of Neymar in the FIFA Award voting for the world’s best player award.

Ronaldo has just brought home the award for the second time in a row, beating fellow finalists Lionel Messi of Barcelona and Neymar from PSG.

Based on the performance during the period of November 20, 2016 to July 2, 2017, the candidates were selected by national team coaches, captains and media elected, each of whom listed first, second and third choices on the ballot.

The result of a vote issued by FIFA shows that neither Messi nor Ronaldo voted for each other, which is common for years. While Neymar continues to lack the full support of his own country.

For the second year in a row, Tite chose Ronaldo first and second Neymar. After picking Neymar in third place last year, media representatives Paulo Coelho put Neymar out of the full vote, preferring Ronaldo, Messi and Brazilian defender Marcelo.

Neymar did not vote during the Brazil vote, and the ballot was filled by Dani Alves, who picked his compatriots first, followed by Messi in second place and Ronaldo in third. Last year he chose Messi over Neymar.

Meanwhile Messi chose his Barcelona teammate Luis Suarez, followed by Andres Iniesta and Neymar, who left Camp Nou to join Paris Saint-Germain this summer.

Ronaldo only chose his Real Madrid team-mates Luka Modric, Sergio Ramos and Marcelo. Portugal coach Fernando Santos chose Ronaldo first, followed by Modric and then Messi.

Here are other interesting facts in the FIFA vote:

– Messi is one of only three players who chose Suarez first, alongside Diego Godin of Uruguay and Anthony Griffith, who also included Harry Kane and N’Golo Kante in his voice.

– Chelsea midfielder Kante received three votes in first place, all from players, including team-mate Eden Hazard, but he was not included in three ballots that emerged from France, including from Hugo Lloris.

– Eden Hazard got one vote in first place from his Belgian manager Roberto Martinez, while only Vanuatu reporter Raymond Nase put Kane in first place.

– Polish captain Robert Lewandowski again picked out Bayern Munich goalkeeper Manuel Neuer first, but Neuer picked out compatriot Toni Kroos over top team mate at the Bavarian club. (Source: ESPN)

Recommended Reading


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *